Monsieur Tom & Madame Aki

When I was a little girl, my parents always told me when I become 18, I get to pick my nationality. I could be Polish, or French, or Japanese, or stay American. I always found that to be pretty cool– that I have options.  Thankfully, by the time I turned 18, the options of  dual citizenship were possible, and so I stopped thinking about it. (Although, I do believe that dual citizenship is still not possible with Japan.) After all, if I really did have to pick– I’m obviously 100% American. I’m born here, I love it here, and I’m pretty proud of it.

However, now that I’m married, I have to think about more then just me. Even though, I can still legally work abroad, and I can still study abroad, what about us? What if our future children wanted those same options? After all, University is practically free in Europe for citizens.

So, I’m now happy to announce that Tom and I are in the process of being a French family. Well, not really, but sort of. Since I’m already French by having a French parent, all I have to do is register our marriage, and our babies will be French too. It’s not an easy process since I don’t read or speak French and I’m not a very good citizen of France (I have never voted in any of the elections even though I got paperwork when I turned 18), but I’m working on it. I had my first appointment with the French Consulate, and the meeting went well. I have a few steps to go, but it’s pretty exciting.

 

Hmmm….so what’s next… Polish? Japanese???

Leave a Reply

